privoxy.git
21 months agoWhen installing, don't create an 'images' directory which is no longer used
Fabian Keil [Mon, 7 Dec 2020 02:56:55 +0000 (03:56 +0100)]
When installing, don't create an 'images' directory which is no longer used

The images were relocated to the user-manual directory years ago.

21 months agoUpdate the method to reach the proxy settings in Firefox
Fabian Keil [Mon, 7 Dec 2020 02:31:27 +0000 (03:31 +0100)]
Update the method to reach the proxy settings in Firefox

21 months agoUpdate proxy_setup.jpg description to refer to Firefox
Fabian Keil [Mon, 7 Dec 2020 02:29:02 +0000 (03:29 +0100)]
Update proxy_setup.jpg description to refer to Firefox

21 months agoRegenerate proxy_setup.jpg with a more recent Firefox (78.0)
Fabian Keil [Mon, 7 Dec 2020 02:24:35 +0000 (03:24 +0100)]
Regenerate proxy_setup.jpg with a more recent Firefox (78.0)

License: CC0

21 months agoRegenerate files-in-use.jpg without obsolete standard.action
Fabian Keil [Mon, 7 Dec 2020 02:19:15 +0000 (03:19 +0100)]
Regenerate files-in-use.jpg without obsolete standard.action

... with modern colors and a slightly better quality.

License: CC0

21 months agoFix compiler warning from GCC9 with -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 13:33:38 +0000 (14:33 +0100)]
Fix compiler warning from GCC9 with -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2

   pcrs.c:284:14: warning: 'strncpy' specified bound depends on the length of the source argument [-Wstringop-overflow=]
     284 |       text = strncpy(text, replacement, length + 1);
         |              ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
   pcrs.c: In function 'pcrs_compile':
   pcrs.c:268:13: note: length computed here
     268 |    length = strlen(replacement);
         |             ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

While the warning is correct, the length of the destination
argument also depends on the length of the source argument
so we're good.

Using strlcpy() instead of strncpy() suppresses the warning
and 'text' is filled with zeros anyway so the difference
doesn't matter.

Reported by Lee.

21 months agosocks5_connect: Fix compiler warning from GCC9 with -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 13:12:25 +0000 (14:12 +0100)]
socks5_connect: Fix compiler warning from GCC9 with -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2

    gateway.c: In function 'socks5_connect':
    gateway.c:1249:4: warning: 'strncpy' specified bound 295 equals destination size [-Wstringop-truncation]
     1249 |    strncpy(cbuf + client_pos, target_host, sizeof(cbuf) - client_pos);
          |    ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The warning is harmless because 'target_host' is checked to
be at most 255 bytes long.

Reported by Lee.

21 months agoMove FEATURE_NO_GIFS one position up to keep the list sorted
Fabian Keil [Sun, 6 Dec 2020 14:43:07 +0000 (15:43 +0100)]
Move FEATURE_NO_GIFS one position up to keep the list sorted

21 months agoBump copyright
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:26:52 +0000 (20:26 +0100)]
Bump copyright

21 months agoRegenerate docs
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:22:32 +0000 (20:22 +0100)]
Regenerate docs

21 months agoUpdate URL to the actionsfile tracker
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:21:22 +0000 (20:21 +0100)]
Update URL to the actionsfile tracker

21 months agoUpdate another link to the default.action file
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:19:42 +0000 (20:19 +0100)]
Update another link to the default.action file

21 months agoUpdate a support request URL
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:17:52 +0000 (20:17 +0100)]
Update a support request URL

21 months agoRephrase the 'Can Privoxy run as service' FAQ entry and remove an obsolete paragraph
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:16:14 +0000 (20:16 +0100)]
Rephrase the 'Can Privoxy run as service' FAQ entry and remove an obsolete paragraph

21 months agoLet the 'Where can I get updated Actions Files?' entry link to the gitweb version...
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:12:25 +0000 (20:12 +0100)]
Let the 'Where can I get updated Actions Files?' entry link to the gitweb version of default.action.master

21 months agoUpdate URLs for the trackers
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:08:46 +0000 (20:08 +0100)]
Update URLs for the trackers

21 months agoBump copyright
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:03:35 +0000 (20:03 +0100)]
Bump copyright

21 months agoUpdate URLs for trackers and mailing lists
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 19:03:17 +0000 (20:03 +0100)]
Update URLs for trackers and mailing lists

21 months agoBump copyright
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 18:59:03 +0000 (19:59 +0100)]
Bump copyright

21 months agoUpdate URLs for trackers and mailing lists
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 18:58:48 +0000 (19:58 +0100)]
Update URLs for trackers and mailing lists

21 months agoBlock requests to tag.crsspxl.com/
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 14:38:22 +0000 (15:38 +0100)]
Block requests to tag.crsspxl.com/

21 months agoBlock requests to analytics.slashdotmedia.com/
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 14:35:02 +0000 (15:35 +0100)]
Block requests to analytics.slashdotmedia.com/

21 months agoBlock requests to ml314.com/
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 14:33:27 +0000 (15:33 +0100)]
Block requests to ml314.com/

21 months agoDisable fast-redirects for secure.gravatar.com/
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 14:30:31 +0000 (15:30 +0100)]
Disable fast-redirects for secure.gravatar.com/

21 months agoBlock requests to .adroll.com/
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 14:28:45 +0000 (15:28 +0100)]
Block requests to .adroll.com/

21 months agoBlock requests to fastlane.rubiconproject.com/
Fabian Keil [Sat, 5 Dec 2020 14:26:52 +0000 (15:26 +0100)]
Block requests to fastlane.rubiconproject.com/

21 months agoOpenSSL create_client_ssl_connection(): Remove unused variable
Fabian Keil [Fri, 4 Dec 2020 19:55:43 +0000 (20:55 +0100)]
OpenSSL create_client_ssl_connection(): Remove unused variable

21 months agoBump copyright
Fabian Keil [Fri, 4 Dec 2020 12:49:50 +0000 (13:49 +0100)]
Bump copyright

21 months agoAdd Mark Seward as contributor (bug #916, prevent caching of http://www.privoxy.org...
Fabian Keil [Fri, 4 Dec 2020 12:18:52 +0000 (13:18 +0100)]
Add Mark Seward as contributor (bug #916, prevent caching of privoxy.org/config/)

21 months agoUpdate URLs for trackers and mailing lists
Fabian Keil [Thu, 3 Dec 2020 20:00:50 +0000 (21:00 +0100)]
Update URLs for trackers and mailing lists

21 months agoReplace CVS reference with git
Fabian Keil [Thu, 3 Dec 2020 19:57:36 +0000 (20:57 +0100)]
Replace CVS reference with git

21 months agoReplace CVS reference with git
Fabian Keil [Thu, 3 Dec 2020 19:57:32 +0000 (20:57 +0100)]
Replace CVS reference with git

21 months agoUpdate bug tracker URL in cgi_error_unknown()
Fabian Keil [Thu, 3 Dec 2020 19:52:14 +0000 (20:52 +0100)]
Update bug tracker URL in cgi_error_unknown()

21 months agoRemove reference to SourceForge in the copyright line
Fabian Keil [Thu, 3 Dec 2020 19:51:46 +0000 (20:51 +0100)]
Remove reference to SourceForge in the copyright line

21 months agoBump version to 3.0.30 UNRELEASED
Fabian Keil [Thu, 3 Dec 2020 19:53:16 +0000 (20:53 +0100)]
Bump version to 3.0.30 UNRELEASED

21 months agoAdd new FEATURES o show-status page and resort list.
Roland Rosenfeld [Sun, 6 Dec 2020 14:22:45 +0000 (15:22 +0100)]
Add new FEATURES o show-status page and resort list.

21 months agoRegenerate HTML man page
Fabian Keil [Mon, 30 Nov 2020 10:13:04 +0000 (11:13 +0100)]
Regenerate HTML man page

21 months agoBelatedly regenerate the man page for 3.0.29 stable
Fabian Keil [Mon, 30 Nov 2020 10:00:26 +0000 (11:00 +0100)]
Belatedly regenerate the man page for 3.0.29 stable

21 months agoUpdate RSS feed for the 3.0.29 releases
Fabian Keil [Sun, 29 Nov 2020 15:26:00 +0000 (16:26 +0100)]
Update RSS feed for the 3.0.29 releases

21 months agoAdd #166: Figure out how to ship Windows binaries with external libraries v_3_0_29
Fabian Keil [Wed, 25 Nov 2020 14:17:47 +0000 (15:17 +0100)]
Add #166: Figure out how to ship Windows binaries with external libraries

21 months agoRebuild documentation with updated changes for 3.0.29 stable
Fabian Keil [Wed, 25 Nov 2020 12:20:39 +0000 (13:20 +0100)]
Rebuild documentation with updated changes for 3.0.29 stable

21 months agoImport ChangeLog entries from 3.0.29 stable
Fabian Keil [Wed, 25 Nov 2020 11:37:44 +0000 (12:37 +0100)]
Import ChangeLog entries from 3.0.29 stable

21 months agochangelog2doc.pl: Don't confuse configure flags with ChangeLog items that need indent...
Fabian Keil [Wed, 25 Nov 2020 12:19:16 +0000 (13:19 +0100)]
changelog2doc.pl: Don't confuse configure flags with ChangeLog items that need indentation

21 months agoUpdate the announcement for 3.0.29 stable
Fabian Keil [Wed, 25 Nov 2020 11:25:33 +0000 (12:25 +0100)]
Update the announcement for 3.0.29 stable

21 months agoBump copyright
Fabian Keil [Sun, 11 Oct 2020 09:41:57 +0000 (11:41 +0200)]
Bump copyright

21 months agoAdd ChangeLog entries for 3.0.29 stable
Fabian Keil [Sun, 11 Oct 2020 09:41:41 +0000 (11:41 +0200)]
Add ChangeLog entries for 3.0.29 stable

21 months agoRebuild user manual with typo fix
Fabian Keil [Tue, 24 Nov 2020 16:46:01 +0000 (17:46 +0100)]
Rebuild user manual with typo fix

21 months agoRebuild config file
Fabian Keil [Tue, 24 Nov 2020 16:45:05 +0000 (17:45 +0100)]
Rebuild config file

21 months agoFix commment typo
Fabian Keil [Tue, 24 Nov 2020 16:45:42 +0000 (17:45 +0100)]
Fix commment typo

21 months agoFix typo
Fabian Keil [Tue, 24 Nov 2020 16:43:49 +0000 (17:43 +0100)]
Fix typo

21 months agoFix comment typos
Fabian Keil [Tue, 24 Nov 2020 16:25:49 +0000 (17:25 +0100)]
Fix comment typos

21 months agoFix comment typo
Fabian Keil [Tue, 24 Nov 2020 16:24:45 +0000 (17:24 +0100)]
Fix comment typo

22 months agoRebuild config file
Fabian Keil [Mon, 23 Nov 2020 11:22:12 +0000 (12:22 +0100)]
Rebuild config file

22 months agoRebuild docs for 3.0.29 stable
Fabian Keil [Mon, 23 Nov 2020 11:20:26 +0000 (12:20 +0100)]
Rebuild docs for 3.0.29 stable

22 months agoBump SMGL entities for 3.0.29 stable
Fabian Keil [Mon, 23 Nov 2020 11:16:13 +0000 (12:16 +0100)]
Bump SMGL entities for 3.0.29 stable

22 months agoMention that FEATURE_HTTPS_INSPECTION is required for https inspection to work
Fabian Keil [Mon, 23 Nov 2020 11:11:57 +0000 (12:11 +0100)]
Mention that FEATURE_HTTPS_INSPECTION is required for https inspection to work

22 months agoRename section 7 to 'HTTPS Inspection'
Fabian Keil [Mon, 23 Nov 2020 11:06:46 +0000 (12:06 +0100)]
Rename section 7 to 'HTTPS Inspection'

22 months agoMention https inspection as new feature
Fabian Keil [Fri, 20 Nov 2020 15:22:15 +0000 (16:22 +0100)]
Mention https inspection as new feature

22 months agoAdd #165: Add a max-connections-per-client directive
Fabian Keil [Thu, 19 Nov 2020 13:52:10 +0000 (14:52 +0100)]
Add #165: Add a max-connections-per-client directive

22 months agoBump version to 3.0.29 stable
Fabian Keil [Thu, 19 Nov 2020 03:49:44 +0000 (04:49 +0100)]
Bump version to 3.0.29 stable

22 months agoNote that sponsor levels 'Gold' and 'Silver' don't require a logo link
Fabian Keil [Thu, 19 Nov 2020 03:45:45 +0000 (04:45 +0100)]
Note that sponsor levels 'Gold' and 'Silver' don't require a logo link

22 months agoDon't claim that the logo will be shown randomly for sponsor level 'Silver'
Fabian Keil [Thu, 19 Nov 2020 03:42:51 +0000 (04:42 +0100)]
Don't claim that the logo will be shown randomly for sponsor level 'Silver'

The website is static and is unlikely to become dynamic in the
near future.

22 months agoAfter detecting OpenSSL/LibreSSL explicitly mention the "special exception" from...
Fabian Keil [Wed, 18 Nov 2020 19:05:22 +0000 (20:05 +0100)]
After detecting OpenSSL/LibreSSL explicitly mention the "special exception" from section 3 of the GPLv2

22 months agoBump SOURCE_DATE_EPOCH
Fabian Keil [Wed, 18 Nov 2020 10:33:24 +0000 (11:33 +0100)]
Bump SOURCE_DATE_EPOCH

22 months agoRebuild FAQ without Zwiebelfreunde e.V. information
Fabian Keil [Wed, 18 Nov 2020 10:56:04 +0000 (11:56 +0100)]
Rebuild FAQ without Zwiebelfreunde e.V. information

22 months agoRemove Zwiebelfreunde e.V. from the list of fiduciary sponsors
Fabian Keil [Wed, 18 Nov 2020 09:37:24 +0000 (10:37 +0100)]
Remove Zwiebelfreunde e.V. from the list of fiduciary sponsors

As of 2021 they no longer handle donations for foreign organisations
due to lack of resources.

22 months agoOnly set SOURCE_DATE_EPOCH if it's not already set
Fabian Keil [Thu, 12 Nov 2020 09:54:14 +0000 (10:54 +0100)]
Only set SOURCE_DATE_EPOCH if it's not already set

... so distributions can overwrite it through the environment.

22 months agoRemove list_to_text() from the list of supposedly declared functions
Fabian Keil [Tue, 10 Nov 2020 12:58:48 +0000 (13:58 +0100)]
Remove list_to_text() from the list of supposedly declared functions

22 months agoget_request_destination_elsewhere(): Prevent unlikely dereference of a NULL-pointer
Fabian Keil [Tue, 10 Nov 2020 12:50:59 +0000 (13:50 +0100)]
get_request_destination_elsewhere(): Prevent unlikely dereference of a NULL-pointer

... if getting the destination fails and list_to_text() fails
as well.

CID 267165

22 months agocgi_show_client_tags(): Plug memory leaks
Fabian Keil [Tue, 10 Nov 2020 11:33:53 +0000 (12:33 +0100)]
cgi_show_client_tags(): Plug memory leaks

CID 267168

22 months agoPlug another memory leak in cgi_show_status()
Fabian Keil [Tue, 10 Nov 2020 11:22:04 +0000 (12:22 +0100)]
Plug another memory leak in cgi_show_status()

CID 305233

22 months agossl_send_certificate_error(): Cast ssl_send_data() return code to void
Fabian Keil [Tue, 10 Nov 2020 10:54:55 +0000 (11:54 +0100)]
ssl_send_certificate_error(): Cast ssl_send_data() return code to void

... to silence CID 305232.

22 months agoPlug memory leak in cgi_show_status()
Fabian Keil [Tue, 10 Nov 2020 10:47:18 +0000 (11:47 +0100)]
Plug memory leak in cgi_show_status()

CID 305233

22 months agoFix memory leak in cgi_show_status() with extended statistics enabled
Fabian Keil [Tue, 10 Nov 2020 10:37:21 +0000 (11:37 +0100)]
Fix memory leak in cgi_show_status() with extended statistics enabled

CID 305235

22 months agoRegenerate docs with updated license explanation
Fabian Keil [Thu, 5 Nov 2020 11:25:03 +0000 (12:25 +0100)]
Regenerate docs with updated license explanation

22 months agoComplicate the license explanation even further
Fabian Keil [Thu, 5 Nov 2020 11:19:06 +0000 (12:19 +0100)]
Complicate the license explanation even further

The GPLv3 only has to be used if the MbedTLS version
is licensed under the Apache 2.0 license which will
be the case for future releases.

At the moment the 2.16 releases are still dual licensed.

22 months agoUnblock .tagesschau.de/
Fabian Keil [Fri, 30 Oct 2020 08:08:20 +0000 (09:08 +0100)]
Unblock .tagesschau.de/

22 months agoBlock requests to pixel.wp.com/
Fabian Keil [Sun, 18 Oct 2020 09:06:02 +0000 (11:06 +0200)]
Block requests to pixel.wp.com/

22 months agoRemove the reference to a non-existant 'hash' program in a comment
Fabian Keil [Sat, 10 Oct 2020 06:20:25 +0000 (08:20 +0200)]
Remove the reference to a non-existant 'hash' program in a comment

23 months agoBlock requests to /(.*/)?piwik\.php
Fabian Keil [Wed, 16 Sep 2020 12:20:45 +0000 (14:20 +0200)]
Block requests to /(.*/)?piwik\.php

23 months agoDisable fast-redirects for .librarything.com/
Fabian Keil [Wed, 7 Oct 2020 17:59:34 +0000 (19:59 +0200)]
Disable fast-redirects for .librarything.com/

23 months agoBlock requests to .connectaserver.de/
Fabian Keil [Wed, 7 Oct 2020 09:29:22 +0000 (11:29 +0200)]
Block requests to .connectaserver.de/

23 months agoRebuild config file
Fabian Keil [Tue, 6 Oct 2020 14:07:38 +0000 (16:07 +0200)]
Rebuild config file

23 months agoRebuild docs
Fabian Keil [Tue, 6 Oct 2020 14:04:58 +0000 (16:04 +0200)]
Rebuild docs

23 months agoAdd documentation for the cipher-list directive
Fabian Keil [Tue, 6 Oct 2020 14:04:08 +0000 (16:04 +0200)]
Add documentation for the cipher-list directive

23 months agoAdd a cipher-list directive to specify the ciphers used
Fabian Keil [Tue, 6 Oct 2020 11:28:14 +0000 (13:28 +0200)]
Add a cipher-list directive to specify the ciphers used

... in the TLS handshake.

The get_ciphersuites_from_string() function in the
MbedTLS code is based on code contributed by Václav Švec.

23 months agoUse 'Example' (singular) in sections that only contain one example
Fabian Keil [Tue, 6 Oct 2020 13:54:44 +0000 (15:54 +0200)]
Use 'Example' (singular) in sections that only contain one example

23 months agoFix white-space
Fabian Keil [Tue, 6 Oct 2020 11:35:09 +0000 (13:35 +0200)]
Fix white-space

23 months agoDisable fast-redirects for issue.freebsdfoundation.org/
Fabian Keil [Sun, 4 Oct 2020 10:22:16 +0000 (12:22 +0200)]
Disable fast-redirects for issue.freebsdfoundation.org/

23 months agoLowercase the host name in functions that set it
Fabian Keil [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 18:17:48 +0000 (20:17 +0200)]
Lowercase the host name in functions that set it

In case of get_destination_from_https_headers() it's important
to get stable hashes for certificates.

In case of get_destination_from_headers() and parse_http_url()
it's mainly cosmetic.

23 months agoAdd string_tolower()
Fabian Keil [Sun, 4 Oct 2020 01:45:29 +0000 (03:45 +0200)]
Add string_tolower()

23 months agoAdd support for Websockets with https inspection enabled
Fabian Keil [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 11:53:17 +0000 (13:53 +0200)]
Add support for Websockets with https inspection enabled

Set the CT_TABOO flag in case of status code 101 and
continue shuffling data around until one of the sockets
gets closed.

23 months agoMbedTLS ssl_send_data(): Include the socket in the log messages
Fabian Keil [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 15:35:03 +0000 (17:35 +0200)]
MbedTLS ssl_send_data(): Include the socket in the log messages

23 months agoMbedTLS ssl_recv_data(): Include the socket in the log messages
Fabian Keil [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 15:33:26 +0000 (17:33 +0200)]
MbedTLS ssl_recv_data(): Include the socket in the log messages

23 months agoOpenSSL ssl_send_data(): Include the file descriptor in the log messages
Fabian Keil [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 11:37:29 +0000 (13:37 +0200)]
OpenSSL ssl_send_data(): Include the file descriptor in the log messages

23 months agoOpenSSL ssl_recv_data(): Include the file descriptor in the log messages
Fabian Keil [Sat, 3 Oct 2020 11:35:56 +0000 (13:35 +0200)]
OpenSSL ssl_recv_data(): Include the file descriptor in the log messages

23 months agoDisable fast-redirects for .twitter.com/.*origin=http
Fabian Keil [Mon, 28 Sep 2020 10:52:57 +0000 (12:52 +0200)]
Disable fast-redirects for .twitter.com/.*origin=http

23 months agoRemove #119 "Evaluate using pcre's jit mode"
Fabian Keil [Mon, 28 Sep 2020 10:38:34 +0000 (12:38 +0200)]
Remove #119 "Evaluate using pcre's jit mode"

Support has been added.

23 months agopcrs: Use the D flag to disable JIT-compilation
Fabian Keil [Fri, 25 Sep 2020 20:35:29 +0000 (22:35 +0200)]
pcrs: Use the D flag to disable JIT-compilation

... and use it in pcrs_compile_dynamic_command().

23 months agopcrs: Request JIT compilation if it's supported
Fabian Keil [Fri, 25 Sep 2020 15:22:03 +0000 (17:22 +0200)]
pcrs: Request JIT compilation if it's supported